A New Start

Every morning begins with a choice. Do I hold fast to the things of yesterday, or do I move forward ? Yesterday is finished, a work complete. Yet why do I cling to that dead, non-returnable day? 

God in his infinite wisdom gave us chances every morning to begin anew.  With each morning, our bodies reset themselves physiologically with the darkness and light cycle. Mentally we are also designed to “not let the sun go down on our wrath.”  (Ephesians 4:26)

One time I was reading through the Old Testament, not studying, just reading. I began to notice something in the book of Jeremiah.  Verse after verse began, or had in the middle, the words “early in the morning’, or,” rising up early”. Verses like: “the word of the Lord hath come unto me, rising early and speaking, but ye have not harkened.” Maybe I was too busy sleeping, or shrugging the sleep out of my eyes and mind to hear clearly. Or maybe I just rolled over in bed! Hello, I guess He had it written many times for me to pay attention. So…He speaks often, early in the morning, and I don’t listen.

  And my most favorite passage in Lamentations 3:19-26 (written also by Jeremiah).

 ” Remembering mine afflection and my misery, the wormwood and the gall. My soul hath them still in rememrance, and is humbled in me.

 This I recall to my mind; therefore have I hope. It is because of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail  not.

 They are new every morning; Great is Thy faithfulness.

 The Lord is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him. The Lord is good unto those who wait for him, to the soul that seeketh him. It is good that a man should both hope and wait for the salvation of the Lord.”

 Wow! Don’t those verses in Lamentations describe it perfectly. Wormwood is a plant that produces a bitter and, in high enough doses, even a toxic potion. Galls are produced by a plant as a result of an invading insect.  Scar tissue is formed around the larval form of the insect.  Inside the  gall are concentrated  nutrients stolen from the plant that reluctantly harbors the insect.  So basically, remembering the bad things in the past can poison me and take all of my resources.

The memories of all the horrible things in the past are held by my very soul. Without the new mercies and compassion of the Lord every morning, I would have no hope. My very soul could be consumed with the mistakes and failures if I don’t look to the light and seek Him. I can tell you by experience, my whole family struggles with depression, that the darkness of the soul CAN consume all the light. Especially if I focus on the darkness.  “Truly the light is sweet , and a pleasant thing it is for the eyes to behold the sun. “( Ecclesiastes 11:7) It is amazing that the sun rises EVERY MORNING. So I need to wake up, pay attention and listen to God, who is saying: Every day is a new start, a new day to remember My mercies, compassion and  faithfulness and forget the wormwood and the gall (yuck)…  Listen I can hear Him, and see Him. Can’t you?

 

“But this thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.” (Phillippians 3:13-14)

Leave a Reply

