Always be Prepared

My day began like any other. Got the big children off to school and fed Benjamin breakfast. I went to a friend’s for prayer. We  were praying for many things, among those the lack that our family has had this year financially. Ray’s work has gone from making around $45,000 a year to around $32,000 this year.  As a result, my food supplies are low. We had all heifer calves last year except “Freezer.” I asked Ray to butcher him for meat since our freezers are shockingly low in supplies and he didn’t want to until he was full grown. Tonight I was making spaghetti with no meat. So, we prayed for food.

 

I came home, fed Ben and put him in his room for a nap when the neighbor pulled up in his truck honking his horn. He said, “One of your cows is stuck in the feeder and it doesn’t look good. I told him, “then probably it isn’t good.” I pulled on my boots and went to the feeder. My boots got stuck in the mud a few times. Once, I even lost a boot. I abandoned my boots and went barefooted. Sure enough, there was Freezer. His head was stuck through the side of the feeder and his legs had slid under the edge of the hay feeder. I barely heard a breath. So I had to push the metal feeder onto it’s side to free his head. Yep, I had to grunt and my poor back with it’s 3 herniated discs…The neighbor man looked on.  After freeing his head, I tried cow CPR without the airway part. I felt no pulse at all.

 

I hated for the meat to go to waste, after all we were just praying for food !! I got a butcher knife and stuck his jugular. Another neighbor offered to go to the school and pick up the boys for help. I sent her. Thank God for my boys 🙂 Love them. Anyway, when Levi and Micah came, they put chains around his back legs and hoisted him in the air with the backhoe. We split the breastbone with a sawsall and gutted the cow. Levi skinned him. Tonight, Freezer is on his way to hang in the butcher’s cooler and in two weeks, we will have steaks, roasts and hamburgers. Ahh, got to pray and be prepared for an answer, it will probably be an answer “outside of the box.”

 

Backhoes are handy for many things

 

 First John 5:14-15 And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us. And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.
Leave a Reply

