My Cursed Mouth

My Cursed Mouth

What is wrong with me? Self-control. He that keepeth his mouth keepeth his life: but he that openeth wide his lips shall have destruction. Proverbs 13:3. Good thing my life wasn’t at stake. I talk to myself in my head all the time, warning myself to speak only things that edify. Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. Ephesians 4:29.

Although society would have us to believe it is best to be transparent and “let it all hang out”, the Bible teaches differently.  Over time, the guard of our mouths has been removed, and with its removal has come a lack of self-control in many areas of our lives. I look at our parent’s lives and grandparent’s lives. The evidence of the sliding of respect, dependability in the workplace, honor to our marriage vows and commitment to friendships has shown a real decline. I can remember my parents having very good trustworthy friends for a lifetime. In my own life, and in the lives of others, I do not see many solid, good relationships. In my opinion, part of that problem is that too much gushes forth from the pie hole in our faces.

So I said some things that were not lies, just were not edifying. Then I went to apologize to the hearer.( I am trying to be accountable when I do speak in a negative way by making the effort to make sure I don’t just shrug it off anymore.) The response from the hearer was a boatload of stuff I just did NOT want to hear. Basically, I had to swallow a lot of chunks. My brain turned to mush and I needed a nap. It is amazing how much better I felt after the nap. I had quite a spanking. I will not do that again, at least I hope not 🙂 If I can get my mouth under control, then I can be a blessing 🙂

For in many things we offend all. If any man offend not in word, the same is a perfect man, and able also to bridle the whole body. Behold, we put bits in the horses’ mouths, that they may obey us; and we turn about their whole body. James 3:2-3.

 

One comment on “My Cursed Mouth

  1. Esther,
    You ARE a blessing! We are not made perfect, for He tells us so. It is ok to get frustrated at times, even verbally explode. However, we each have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. He knows you heart 🙂

Leave a Reply

