I AM ONLY ONE

Pure religion and undefiled before God and the Father is this, To visit the fatherless and the widows in their affliction, and to keep himself unspotted from the world. James 1:27

Father to the fatherless, defender of widows — this is God, whose dwelling is holy. God places the lonely in families. Psalms 68:5-6

Learn to do good. Seek justice. Help the oppressed. Defend the cause of orphans. Fight for the rights of widows. Isaiah 1:17

And anyone who welcomes a little child like this on my behalf is welcoming me. Matthew 18:5

I tell you the truth, when you did it to one of the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were doing it to me! Matthew 25:40

Long ago when we felt called to adopt for the first time…that would be almost 15 years ago now, we knew of ONE Christian family around our age that adopted before or were adopting or had a heart for adoption. We were really very alone in our calling to adopt. I will talk in the next blog about our calling and how it all happened, but for now, I am really excited that Christians are stepping up to the plate.

We went to an Operation Rescue protest about 17 years ago and we knew most Christians were pro-life, but when we spoke to them about adoption, it was almost a revulsion. They either had their two or three children, didn’t want any children, or had NO desire to raise someone else’s child. So, I wondered, how could you be pro-life yet not be willing to raise the baby? After all, the result of the pregnancy would be A LIFE!! But it got to the place it didn’t matter what EVERYONE else was doing, we had to do SOMETHING. There were little ones there who were crying and no one cared. I could HEAR them in my spirit.

God showed me this poem, my absolute favorite:

I am only one,

But still I am one.

I cannot do everything,

But still I can do something;

And because I cannot do everything

I will not refuse

to do the something

I can do.

Edward Everett Hale 1822-1909

Thank GOD in the past years since then…GOD has been stirring the hearts of many Christians. Their spirit can no longer ignore it, ” But his word was in mine heart as a burning fire shut up in my bones, and I was weary with forbearing, and I could not stay.” Jeremiah 20:9b.

It is a MOVEMENT praise God!!! I remember when we adopted the first time seeing the NEED and praying for God to move Christians to BELIEVE the word. That’s all they had to do, was believe and OBEY and the tide would turn. Children would have a Mommy and Daddy, just how God intended it. After all, don’t we believe that we are to save souls? How better then to bring them into our home and teach them about the God who loves them and made them? What a great opportunity. I am so excited to see it!!

http://www.christianalliancefororphans.org/

If you have never really thought about adoption THINK about it, there is always a need, ALWAYS a need. If you have any questions ask, I will be very happy to answer them!! Sharing my HEART’S CALL. ❤

One comment on “I AM ONLY ONE

  1. I love that poem! It is so applicable to all the areas of life where we feel that we can’t make a difference because we are too small. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

