Behind YOU

The corn stalks were crunchy, dry and scratchy. They only were a little higher than my ankle, but on Benjamin, they were up to his knees. The taller weeds scraped along my thigh, but hit him in the nose. “Behind you, behind you” Benjamin repeated over and over. He could not walk abreast with me, it hurt too much. He had to follow behind to protect his face from scratches and his knees from scrapes.

 I stopped to watch the dog run across the field, Benjamin, four square behind me, stopped too and watched. We continued on: “Behind you,” Ben continued his chant.

Once we reached the path the tractor made, having crushed the weeds and stalks in its wake, Benjamin let go of my hand and ran ahead.

It’s when the way gets easy and the road gets wide that we run ahead and stop waiting for God to make the path clear.

“They have made themselves crooked paths. Whoever takes that way shall not know peace.” Isaiah 59:8b

“Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because, narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it” Matthew 7:13-14

“Show me your ways, O Lord, Teach me your paths. Lead me in Your truth and teach me. For You are the God of my Salvation. On You I wait all the day.” Psalm 25:4-5.

I want nothing more than to follow God as he makes a path just wide enough for me to fit through.  Nothing more; nothing less.

 

For our Adoption Fund:

Leave a Reply

