A bubble blowing Kind of Day

Yesterday the swelling in his body reduced enough that air was moving around the vent tube. So he was blowing bubbles: with is mouth and his nose 🙂 The leak got a bit more than they wanted it and they did inflate the cuff in his vent tube a little more so not as much air was escaping up his trachea. Yesterday was a stable day for the most part.

Eli went from acidosis to alkalosis (the pH of his body fluids are now too basic). Sooo…they gave him a medicine to pee bicarbonates, and tried to allow his CO2 levels to increase a bit to offset that. He did NOT like the changes in his ventilator settings to allow CO2 to build up, his heart rate fell and was highly erratic and the end tidals climbed too high. So they gave up on the vent changes and went back to what worked yesterday. His xray was a bit worse but not awfully so. The cloudy areas moved. He tested positive for Haemophilus influenzae in his stomach fluids, but I was told the antibiotics should take care of that. He is so weak immunologically. His lungs are opening up and they  reduced the pressure of the air going into his lungs since his lungs are healing.

I had a very sad moment looking at his little body and yearning to pick him up…so I went for lunch. I met a woman Tara on the elevator she asked how I was I said not a terrible day but not a good one either. She stepped off the elevator not on the floor to which she was going but with me and said…you are a Christian..do you mind if I pray with you? and she spoke powerful words of healing in prayer.  She said “Today I thought I was coming to see Isaiah, but he was asleep.” 🙂

And we could do the POOPY Diaper dance 🙂 His intestines are working perfectly and he had TWO poopy diapers!!

He is PINKING up !!

He is PINKING up!!

My soul finds rest in God alone; my Salvation comes from him. He alone is my Rock and my Salvation; He is my Fortress, I will never be shaken. Psalm 62:1-2.

Leave a Reply

