The need to POSSESS

The need to POSSESS

As I was cleaning this morning, I saw my potted arrangement on the deck, minus all of the petunia blooms. A sweet little girl just couldn’t stand it. She had to HAVE all of the blooms. It was not enough to see them, touch them, and enjoy them. She HAD to OWN them. Mind you, she was only two.

But aren’t we all like that? It is not enough for me to go on vacation (not that I do much) and sit in a hot tub without imagining one in our own house. I know exactly where I would put it, how I would use it, and just know that I can afford it (whether I can or not).

Ian’s Pheonix hen looks much different when held.

But when we have something in our hand, it loses its mystery, its specialness and it just becomes something else to maintain, clean and put away. Or even sometimes, like the flower, it dies. Some things are just meant to enjoy for the brief moment that we see or feel them.

See her FREE!!

Savor the moment, things might just change before we know it.

“For, lo, the winter is past, the rain is over and gone; The flowers appear on the earth; the time of singing of birds is come, and the voice of the turtle is heard in our land; The fig tree putteth forth her green figs, and the vines with the tender grape give a good smell. Arise, my love, my fair one, and come away.” Song of Solomon 2: 11-13.

Leave a Reply

