APPROACHABLE

Old stained dress, baby smear on my leg, the fuzzy socks that none of my kids would be caught dead in, and sneakers

Hair up in a clip, not having a comb since early dawn

Clean, but mussed: APPROACHABLE

A man told me about his eye surgery that did not go as well as planned, I promised to pray for him.

I heard about the son of another man who was moving.

A neighbor told me about seeing the kids walking on the road and them joking around with her.

Two ladies laughed with me as the baby smiled at them.

The cashier was apologizing and I had a chance to give her grace.

The kids laughed at my socks and my bumbling.

Altogether, five strangers spoke to me. Two acquaintances updated me on their family. I was gone a half an hour…Approachable.

Some days, I am dressed up and  with a look, a snoot, I change. No one speaks to me, I do not hear about the families of my friends, the hurts of a stranger, or warmly exchange smiles with another mom. People look at my face seekingly, I look away.  It’s a choice.

“And unto the Jews, I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain the that are under the law; To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the Law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law. To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak; I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.” 1 Corinthians 9: 20-22.

These verses can be summed up in one word: APPROACHABLE!

Leave a Reply

