When the Picture in your Hand Doesn’t Match the Picture in Your Head

 

Tucked under my chin, a braided head sobbed.

Faith had drawn a beautiful picture for the fireman’s contest; A house on fire, a swing set, children crawling out of the doors and rolling on the ground. She even had a crying baby and scared looks on the family’s faces.

So, this morning, Mazie woke up and looked at her blank sheet of paper. She drew a red circle and made a guttural groaning sound.

 Half anger, half anguish.

She tried some more, then threw her red colored pencil and collapsed into my lap. No words were needed as big tears sparkled on her eyelashes.

“Oh honey, it’s OK. I love you. I know you are so frustrated because in your mind is a beautiful picture, but you are having trouble drawing it.”

Wow, just wow.

I am so like that. In my mind, my house is finished. My bathroom doesn’t have rotting floors, the siding is complete and the trim is up in all the rooms. But when I see the reality and not my vision in my mind, something crumbles. Reality crashes into vision and there is always pain.

That is just a surface example, but there are so many more. Dreams of a relationship being one way, but truth is…

But some of it is our viewpoint:

A window air conditioner case can be a dirty old piece of metal, or a tunnel to crawl through. Mazie’s drawing can either be an awful representation of her vision or she can look at it and see an almost perfect circle!!

In that house, I can see the siding, trim and the bathroom…or I can see the children in the rooms and my beautiful hickory cabinets.

In that relationship, I can see the anger and the disrespect, or I can see the smile when he thinks I’m not looking…

I want to be SATISFIED.

Satisfied: that warm, full, but not to busting feeling. When I am satisfied with what gifts and blessings I have and use them to the fullest:

15 “The horse leech has two daughters. ‘Give! Give!’ they cry.

There are three things that are never satisfied, four that never say, ‘Enough!’:

16 the grave, the barren womb, land, which is never satisfied with water, and fire, which never says, ‘Enough!’

Proverbs 30:15-16

Yikes: who wants to be a horseleach?

 

 

Leave a Reply

