When is it Enough?

When is it enough?

When should we stop our ministry? When God calls you to stand in the gap, when do you move on?

I have given so much thought to this over the years.

inspirational-life-quotes-6

When we had three toddlers and I needed time just to regroup, the adults who were at a perfect place to lend an occasional hand were always too busy being without children. They liked being free and disliked the thought of spending time with my precious ones so I could just even go out with my husband for coffee… Ok maybe that was not their ministry.

But, as a young person, I saw people not only retire from their jobs, but retire from their calling… sometimes no one stood in the gap. Why? Because I cannot find anywhere in the Bible where we are done with our ministry… What prophet all of a sudden was no longer a prophet? When he died! When did the disciples stop spreading the word? Same answer. When did Moses stop leading the children of Israel? When did Miriam stop being a leader of the women? When did Mother Theresa stop laboring in India? When did Amy Carmichael stop her ministry? …

Who is your hero? I have found whomever you want to pattern your life after is who you become. Can you tell me when we are supposed to stop advocating and loving/parenting special children and being family to the ones who we find? Many people have given me their answers…but what does God say?

Mt 18:10 “Take heed that ye despise not one of these little ones; for I say unto you, That in heaven their angels do always behold the face of my Father which is in heaven.”

“But I will rejoice even if I lose my life, pouring it out like a liquid offering to God, just like your faithful service is an offering to God. And I want all of you to share that joy.” Philippians 2:17 NIV

 

Galatians 6:9 King James Version (KJV) “And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.”

 

2 comments on “When is it Enough?

Leave a Reply

