Quote

Out of Oil

oct 2011 046

Snow pounding with no relief; A quick run to the store so the kids had supplies for the evening.

A friend calls needing a ride to take her baby to Medwell (the local after hour clinic). A date, first one in a very long time.

 So much pulling … an internal desire to escape from the winter cabin fever…I opened the door…the thought came and went: “better call Chelsea, it might be important. Nah, it is always a minor thing, a stuffy nose, an ear infection, or I call and get no answer and she already got a ride…let her mom or grandma take her. The last time it was 10pm and she wanted me to get her formula, she had decided to wean the baby…right then…I’m just not in the mood,” I thought.

 And I went through the door, pulled it firmly behind me.

Dusted the snow off of the windows and scrambled in the passenger seat. “Do you think you should call Chelsea?” Ray asked.

“Nah, I said. Even if the baby just has nothing much wrong, she will rope me into taking her and then we won’t get a date for another two months!”

“I’d take her,” my hero said.

2010 Fair part 1 039

But my foolish, selfish heart said lets go…and go we went.

It was not as enjoyable as it could have been with the thought nagging, I should have at least called.

When we returned, I found out that she called the ambulance. The baby had turned blue. RSV pneumonia. She had called a second time, five hours after the first while I was BUSY…

When is it Enough?

Some friend. Because I never talked to her I did not know her grandma was in VA, her mom didn’t know how seriously the baby was sick until he had turned blue. She called me first because she knew she could depend on me.

I would have known how sick the baby was. I promised her I cared and would be there for her, but I was out of oil.

October and November 2012 108

I was not filled up with OIL. I was running on empty and I knew it. I was not prepared to be the light, I was wrapped up in my own needs…OIL.

I did not have enough for the dark night. Who needs oil for their light in the day?

October and November 2012 122

Conviction.

 I belly cried to the God who hears and knows and forgives. Oh wretched man that I am… I have so far to go to be able to look in the mirror and see Him.

 I humbly told Chelsea the whole unaltered story and asked for forgiveness… Five days in the hospital. The baby is fine now and is home, but it could have been much different.

October and November 2012 039

The Parable of the Ten Virgins

25 “At that time the kingdom of heaven will be like ten virgins who took their lamps and went out to meet the bridegroom. 2 Five of them were foolish and five were wise. 3 The foolish ones took their lamps but did not take any oil with them. 4 The wise ones, however, took oil in jars along with their lamps. 5 The bridegroom was a long time in coming, and they all became drowsy and fell asleep.

6 “At midnight the cry rang out: ‘Here’s the bridegroom! Come out to meet him!’

7 “Then all the virgins woke up and trimmed their lamps. 8 The foolish ones said to the wise, ‘Give us some of your oil; our lamps are going out.’

9 “‘No,’ they replied, ‘there may not be enough for both us and you. Instead, go to those who sell oil and buy some for yourselves.’

10 “But while they were on their way to buy the oil, the bridegroom arrived. The virgins who were ready went in with him to the wedding banquet. And the door was shut.

11 “Later the others also came. ‘Lord, Lord,’ they said, ‘open the door for us!’

12 “But he replied, ‘Truly I tell you, I don’t know you.’

13 “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour.

Out of OIL

Leave a Reply

