Game Over

I was getting too comfortable.

She broke her chain, about a year old calf…in the yard. I walked right up to her and put out my hand, she is very tame and licks my knuckles as she give a tentative push with her head, knocking me off balance… something changes in the blink of an eye.

Back of a Swiss :)

Back of a Swiss 🙂

She charges me. I stuff my fingers up her nostrils as far as I can and grab her nose and twist her head around… She comes again and again… I get the high ground and plant myself behind the apple tree, directly on the other side of the trunk and grab a switch and slice it across her nose.

Game over.

What was I thinking? I know to always have a club or some other weapon when dealing with loose stock! But she was young, and I knew she was tame…and I let my guard down.

Baby calf eye

Baby calf eye

Wow, I could have been my four year old. Somehow we all live with everyday danger and  become immune to what could happen. And before we know it , it is no longer a game, or playing footsie…it is real live danger and there is only one winner.

Immediately after this happened, my spirit knew this was an object lesson of how sin works…looks tame, safe, and “don’t worry, no one will be hurt.” You don’t need to go back and get your beating club…

So without any weapons, and vulnerable, we approach situations that are dangerous….And then…WHAM…

Before sin has you on your back, don’t approach it, don’t lose your wariness or fear of it. Have your weapons ready!!

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour. 1 Peter 5:8

One comment on “Game Over

Leave a Reply

