The Long Goodbye

Conemaugh Memorial Hospital

Conemaugh Memorial Hospital

This place has been the site of some of the most joyous times in my life, as well as some of the most difficult. There is something about driving here and seeing the sign, parking and moving as quickly as possible into the building…not knowing what is on the other side of the door.

This time was no different. I got the call, figured how to get there without the children. It “so happened” that Micah was home sick from college (nothing is ever “so happened”)… and with Shyloh there, I could leave the three littles and go at the drop of a hat. I did not know I would have to go at the drop of a hat, but God had it all planned that could go and be a support.

563133_10200720848119633_948188941_n[1]

It “so happened” that right as I rounded the corner before entering the building that my sister was coming down the hill as I was going up. We entered together. We were there, part of us did not come, that part was in the box in our mind that stayed safe on the other side of where we were.

1236410_1378319982402514_359768365_n[1]

And Daddy was being strong, he was. Such a hard time, such a hard place… but we were not alone. Phone calls from family; us trying to explain and being the buffer; giving space to our dear Daddy.

1375716_10200714330436695_1536420833_n[1]

Time will tell where we have been, where we are and where we are going. But, as my sister said…”This is the beginning of the long goodbye.”

The Potter knows the Clay

I know you are going through the fire
Its getting hard to stand the heat
But even harder is the wondering
Is God’s hand still on me
Its lonely in the flames
When you’re counting days of pain

Chorus
But the Potter knows the clay
How much pressure it can take
How many times around the wheel
‘Til there’s submission to His will
he’s planned a beautiful design
but it’ll take some fire and time
its gonna be okay
‘cause the Potter knows the clay

Friend I just came through that fire
Not too very long ago
And looking back I can see why
And that my God was in control
But on the hottest days I’d cry
Oh Lord, isn’t it about time

written by: Marcia B. Henry and Allison Renee Lapointe

 

Leave a Reply

