His name was Patrick

I saw her again after all of this time…Once again in the walmart right across the road from the place… Patrick is now on a ventilator and has a g-tube. She is finding her way and fighting for him. “There was a reason for all of this; I was a military wife so I know how to fight. I fight for all of them in the home…so many of the children have no one.” These children that she speaks of are now all in their 50’s and things are different now…there is no use for the state school; the buildings that housed so many of the children that the community did not want to see… But for the ones left there, they need more mommas like Patrick’s more family. So many of the families at that time though did not even let the rest of the family know that their brother, their aunt or uncle was placed there…they just didn’t know that the baby even lived…secrets from another time. An appointment that God made long ago…this stranger who has touched me and taught me to be so very grateful that we live today, at this time…what a blessing that all of us with special ones cannot take for granted.

Brownswissmomma's Blog

“I had no choice, they took him away and told me he would be dead before he was twenty.”

A trip to the local Walmart ® I often get stopped by the elderly who just love to see children and today was no different.

Shlyoh, Benjamin, Eli, Josiah and I barely cleared the automatic doors, when a lady in her seventies at least, babushka on her head, started to talk. I have learned long ago, that nothing is ever an accident. God has lots of preordained “meetings” designed for us, if we just take that moment and stop and listen.

“My husband was in the service, I had my three children and lots of other children too at times. Back then, it was very different, the women who were married to servicemen depended on each other and no one worked. We took turns taking care of each other’s children…and then……

View original post 281 more words

Leave a Reply

